Management and Directors


Pherin Pharmaceuticals, Inc. is presently operating under the leadership of a small management team with significant experience in the life sciences industry. Our management team has access to a number of experts in the fields of pharmaceutical research and development, drug discovery and regulatory affairs. We also have a diversified scientific advisory board comprised of world-renowned scientists.


Louis Monti, M.D., Ph.D. has served as our Vice-President of Research since our founding. At present he is Executive Vice-President and Secretary of Pherin. Prior to joining Pherin, Dr. Monti held various academic positions at the University of Utah and the University of Uruguay.  Dr. Monti holds an M.D. degree from the School of Medicine, University of the Republic, Uruguay, and a Ph.D. degree from the School of Medicine, University of Utah. He has published over 100 scientific articles  and holds 9 patents.

Julian N. Stern has served as our Director since our founding and is Chairman of the Board. Mr. Stern is also a director of DepoMed, Inc. and Fibrogen, Inc. and ROXRO Pharma, Inc. and corporate secretary of several other public and private biotechnology companies. He was the incorporator of ALZA Corporation and Cetus Corporation and served as corporate secretary and a director of those companies from their inception until their merger, respectively, into Johnson and Johnson and Chiron Corporation. Mr. Stern has been and continues to be active in a number of charitable organizations including currently acting as President of the Ronald and Ann Williams Charitable Foundation, as a trustee of the Peter and Vernice Gasser Foundation and as an honorary lifetime trustee and past chairman of the American Cancer Society, California Division.

Kevin P. McCarthy has served as our Director since our founding. He formerly served the Company as Senior Vice President and Chief Financial Officer.  Prior to joining Pherin, Mr. McCarthy was Vice President, Chief Financial Officer and Director of Erox Corporation and a Managing Director of Berliner Associates.

Donald S. Robinson, M.D. has served as our Director since 1994.  Dr. Robinson is a pharmaceutical industry consultant.  Prior to beginning his private consulting business, he was Vice President, Central Nervous System Research, at Bristol-Myers Squibb Company.  In this capacity, he managed nine investigational drug development programs resulting in three major products.  Prior to his employment at Bristol-Myers, he was a Professor of Pharmacology, Psychiatry and Medicine at Marshall University School of Medicine.

Toby Rosenblatt has served as our Director since 1992.  Mr. Rosenblatt is President of Founders Investments Ltd., which is involved in private investment activities.  He also serves as a director of BlackRock Equity Liquidity Mutual Funds and of various Foundations and other non-profit organizations.

Roberto Rosenkranz, Ph.D. has served as our Director since May 2000.  Dr. Rosenkranz has 20 years of experience in the pharmaceutical sector and was Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of Roxro Pharma Inc.  Dr. Rosenkranz had a dual career at Syntex Corporation in science and business, holding positions in pharmacology, new product development, sales, marketing and business development.  He was Director of Business Operations for Roche Laboratories, and he was President and Chief Operating Officer of Scios Inc., and Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of Roxro Pharmaceuticals, Inc.  Dr. Rosenkranz holds a Ph.D. in Pharmacology and Toxicology has extensive experience in academic research and has held a number of special scientific and business appointments.  He has published over 70 scientific papers and holds six patents.

Jacobo Zaidenweber, M.D. has been President of our Mexico subsidiary, Pherin Farmaceutica, S.A. and has served as our Director since May 2000.  Dr. Zaidenweber is President of American Textiles Corporation.  He has served as the Coordinator for the Private Sector for the North American Free Trade Agreement in the Section of Textiles and Tariffs.  He is also the former President of the Coordinating Committee of the United States-Mexico Chamber of Commerce. Dr Zaidenweber earned his medical degree from the University of Mexico, School of Medicine.